The Island of Hawaii

The Island of Hawaii

The Island of Hawaii is known as The Big Island.

Hawaii is the largest and most southeastern island of the chain, and is twice the size of all the other islands combined. It is the newest of all the Hawaiian islands at about 800,000 years old, and continues to grow. It consists of five volcanoes. Of these, Kilauea, Mauna Loa, and Hualalai have all erupted in the past 200 years, and Kilauea and Mauna Loa are still active today.

The island of Hawaii is approximately 4000 square miles and is home to 140,000 residents. It is the most diverse of all the islands, with climate and terrain that range from tropical to desert. On Hawaii, you can surf at the beach in the morning and snow ski on mountainsides in the afternoon. The summit of Mauna Kea is nearly 13,800 feet high and is the site of the world’s biggest telescope, and more scientific observatories than anywhere else in the world, representing nine nations.

Attractions on Hawaii include the erupting volcano, Waipio Valley, Pu’ukohola Heiau, Kealakekua Bay, Hamakua Coast, and Punalu’u Black Sand Beach. The Big Island leads the world both in orchids and in macadamia nut production.

READ  Ten Best Adventure Activities and Fun Places to Visit in Kauai (Hawaii)